Lars Hollender, DDS, PhD



Dr. Lars Hollender received his dental degree in 1958 from the Royal Dental School in Malmo, Sweden. In 1964 he defended his thesis for a Doctor of Odontology degree (PhD). In 1965, he was employed at the Medical Radiology Department in Sahlgren’s Hospital, Goteborg, Sweden. In July 1968 he was appointed the first Professor and Chair of the Oral Radiology Department in the School of Dentistry at the University of Goteborg. Between October 1980 and April 1982, he was a Visiting Professor at the UCLA School of Dentistry, Los Angeles, CA. He was Vice Dean and Acting Dean of the School of Dentistry, University of Goteborg, between 1983 – 1985. Between October 1984 and February 1987, he was a Visiting Professor at the University of Washington School of Dentistry, Seattle, WA. He was a Distinguished Visiting Scholar at the University of Adelaide in 1992. He became Professor and Director of the Oral Radiology Division of the UW School of Dentistry in 1988.

Dr. Hollender is a certified specialist in Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology in Sweden and is also a Diplomat of the American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology. Dr. Hollender has published over 100 articles and several chapters in textbooks. He was awarded the research prize of the South Swedish Dental Association in 1964 and the annual research prize of the Swedish Dental Association in 1965. In 1976 he received the Elander research prize. He is an honorary member of the International Association of Dentomaxillofacial Radiology and of the Australian Academy of Dentomaxillofacial Radiology as well as a fellow of the latter. He is also an honorary member of the Dental Student Organization of the Dental School, University of Goteborg, Sweden. Dr. Hollender was editor of Oodontologisk Revy, the scientific dental journal of the South Swedish Dental Association, 1964-1969. He has been on the editorial board of several scientific journals.

Dr. Hollender served as a Director of the American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology (ABOMR) 1991-1995 and was its Secretary-Treasurer 1991-1994 and its President in 1995. In 1996 he was elected the first Councilor of the ABOMR for a term of 5 years and he was reelected to this position for the period 2000-2005. He was elected President-elect of the American Academy of Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology in 1994 and was the President of AAOMR 1995-1996. In 1999 he was elected member of the ADA Review Committee on Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology.

Copyrights © 2016 & All Rights Reserved by ABOMR.